| User |
Message |

Zephyr_Storm
Posts: 15
Joined: 10/04/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
Hey all. I've been using Textmod for the last couple months now and it has been working just fine. Then today when I went to start it up, my anti-virus kept blocking the program and telling me that a trojan horse had successfully been blocked. Has anyone else had this happen to them? I don't wanna let my anti-virus allow it if it is gonna harm my computer in some way. Any help or advice is appreciated.
Edit: Typos
***THIS POST HAS BEEN EDITED***
|
| 01/29/08 14:46 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Magical Samurai
Posts: 2
Joined: 12/05/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
TexMod is perfectly safe, but I would make sure you have the download from the official Tomb Raider site,
http://www.tombraiderhub.com/tr7/modding/t...load/texmod.zip
As long as you're using that, or you're sure the file you have is from a safe source, I'd say you're fine.
-Magical Samurai
|
| 01/29/08 15:07 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Hijaru Ta
Posts: 3
Joined: 07/31/2007
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
nvm this post, but you can enjoy yourself watching this smiley
:D
***THIS POST HAS BEEN EDITED***
GW IGN: Hijaru Ta
CoH IGN: Hijaru
|
| 01/29/08 15:12 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Zephyr_Storm
Posts: 15
Joined: 10/04/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
Well, I got textmod from the link in the guide that Blazings made awhile back. He said it was safe and I've been running it without anything popping up. It just seems kind of odd that all of a sudden, my anti-virus thinks it's a trojan horse and won't allow it to run :P.
Edit: Magical Samurai, I just tried that link you provided and my anti-virus says that it is a trojan horse as well :P.
***THIS POST HAS BEEN EDITED***
|
| 01/29/08 15:24 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Sgt P
Posts: 8
Joined: 05/11/2006
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
Have you tried deleting it and downloading it from the official site? If not then that is what I would try next. Or maybe the packages (maps) got infected...try deleting those and re-download them.
Good luck, I wish I could help more but I also downloaded everything from the guide and it seems to be fine. I am using AVG and I have scanned the files and everything seems to be ok.
***THIS POST HAS BEEN EDITED***
|
| 01/29/08 15:27 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Liquide
Posts: 6
Joined: 04/22/2007
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
I don΄t have textmod so I can΄t help you, but I liked the smiley.
thaskippy: | QUOTE | | omg... you should be the new dalai lama 0.o |
Mai Englisch is'nt verry good, so plaese keep taht in you're minds.
|
| 01/29/08 15:29 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Forumite
Posts: 8
Joined: 01/05/2008
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
| QUOTE | nvm this post, but you can enjoy yourself watching this smiley
:D |
Im still enjoying it, Thanks Alot!
|
| 01/29/08 15:33 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Magical Samurai
Posts: 2
Joined: 12/05/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
Yeah, if it's having issues with any files, I think your AV is just not liking the program, it's safe though - I think you should just add it to your AV's ignore list.
-Magical Samurai
|
| 01/29/08 15:39 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Magical Samurai
Posts: 2
Joined: 12/05/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
.:Double Post:.
-Magical Samurai
***THIS POST HAS BEEN EDITED***
|
| 01/29/08 15:39 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

Jamnog
Posts: 82
Joined: 10/09/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
this
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
free online virus check from the makers of pc-cillin
not the worlds greatest virus scan but good enough.
|
| 01/29/08 16:59 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

mwpeck
GameAmp Staff
Posts: 24
Joined: 11/24/2005
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
| QUOTE | Yeah, if it's having issues with any files, I think your AV is just not liking the program, it's safe though - I think you should just add it to your AV's ignore list.
-Magical Samurai |
Its not that its not liking it, its the fact the program itself attaches to programs and intercepts calls to the graphics card....which is how it changes textures. That is why its detected as a trojan, because it has trojan-like behavior (attaching to other programs), but despite this its 100% safe.
AVG and others have already corrected the issue of it picking up Texmod as a false-positive.
|
| 01/29/08 17:09 |
Login to rate this user's post! |

The Aurora Guy
Posts: 1
Joined: 01/13/2007
Credibility: 0 pts
|
| RE: Textmod=Trojan Horse? |
|
|
|
Is that what You've been getting? cause that's what i've been getting for the last month and it's really starting to p**s me off.
|
| 01/29/08 17:12 |
Login to rate this user's post! |